活动概述

学生活动是一种探索新兴趣,结识新朋友,娱乐或与朋友相处的方式。 活动也是一种有价值的教育工具。 从校际运动到音乐,戏剧和辩论,各种活动丰富了学生的高中经历。 与一般学生相比,参加活动计划的学生往往具有更高的平均成绩,更好的出勤记录,更低的辍学率和更少的学科问题。 参加高中活动通常可以预测以后能否取得成功-在大学,职业生涯和成为社会的贡献者。

鼓励所有学生参加约克镇各种各样的学生俱乐部和活动,包括学生会,学术俱乐部,课堂活动,社交,服务和表演艺术活动以及体育活动。 学生可以在整个高中阶段加入小组,通常可以在整个学年中的任何时候加入。 但是,大多数团体在秋季组织。 学生应与俱乐部或活动赞助商联系。

要建立一个新的俱乐部,学生应该首先检查“活动俱乐部列表”,以确定是否已经批准了类似的俱乐部。 约克镇现有教职员工必须赞助该俱乐部并监督所有会议和活动。 一个 俱乐部章程 申请表由学生负责人填写,并连同所有必要的签名一起提交给学生活动办公室以供批准。 一旦获得批准,俱乐部会员可以通过传单,《每日报》和秋天举行的活动博览会来宣传会议。

欲了解更多信息,学生可以访问 YHS俱乐部和活动 课程 在 Canvas 或 109 房间的学生活动办公室。


 

迈克尔·克鲁菲尔德,学生活动主管
703-228-5388

谢丽尔·斯托特勒,学生活动助理主任
703-228-5375

玛丽·安·马汉(Mary Ann Mahan),行政助理,学生活动
703-228-5389

Activities Overview

Student activities are a way to explore new interests, meet new people, and have fun or be with friends. Activities are a valuable educational tool as well. From interscholastic sports to music, drama and debate, activities enrich a student’s high school experience. Students who participate in activity programs tend to have higher grade-point averages, better attendance records, lower dropout rates and fewer discipline problems than students generally. Participation in high school activities is often a predictor of later success – in college, career and becoming a contributing member of society.

All students are encouraged to participate in Yorktown’s varied student clubs and activities, including Student Government, academic clubs, classroom-based activities, social, service and performing arts activities, and sports. Students may join groups throughout their high school years and usually may join at any time during the school year. However, most groups organize in the Fall. Students should see the club or activity sponsor about joining.

To initiate a new club, students should first check the Active Club List to determine if a similar club has already been approved. A current Yorktown faculty/staff member must sponsor the club and supervise all meetings and activities. A Club Charter application is completed by the student leader and submitted with all necessary signatures to the Student Activities Office for approval. Once approved, club members may advertise meetings through flyers, the Dailies, and the Activities Fair held in the Fall.

For more information, students can visit the YHS Activities & Clubs course in Canvas or the Student Activities Office in room 109.


 

Michael Krulfeld, Director of Student Activities
703-228-5388

Cheryl Stotler, Assistant Director of Student Activities
703-228-5375

Mary Ann Mahan, Administrative Assistant, Student Activities
703-228-5389