Gap Year

GAP YEAR


Volunteer – WORK STUDY – Teach – INTERN – Learn a Language – ON-LINE Programs

The best way to learn about gap year options and connect with gap year program providers is to connect face-to-face at a gap year fair, virtual or in-person event. With more and more students choosing to take gap time this year, there is a growing need for students, parents, and educational professionals to become aware of the advantages of taking “time out” from traditional education and “time on” for experiential learning.

USA Gap Year Fairs is an annual circuit of 40+ events that bring together reputable gap year organizations, interested students and parents, educational professionals, and gap year experts. For the past 15 years, the circuit has crossed North America each winter; this year, the events have been redesigned to meet a virtual format. As the premiere event series of its kind, the fairs have provided students with a broad exposure to gap year programs that encourage active learning through travel, cultural immersion, service, work experience, and mentorship.. Opportunities for face-to-face conversations with gap year program providers, trip leaders, advisors, and gap year alumni offer attendees a personal and individualized experience. Each event begins with a presentation by gap year advisors and alumni. These gap year experts provide attendees with a rich overview of the gap year option, share relevant data, highlight authentic student experiences, and provide tips and resources to help guide families through gap year research.  USA Gap Year Fairs Gap Year Programs To register for the FREE USA Gap Year Fair: https://www.gooverseas.com/gap-year/usa-fairs/schedule For more information on USA Gap Year Fairs, visit www.USAGapYearFairs.org

PROGRAM WEBSITE TYPE/EXPLAIN
Action Quest www.actionquest.com  Expeditionary Learning
AFS Intercultural Institute www.afs.org Intercultural / Peace
Americans Corp for National Service www.americorps.org Humanitarian, etc./Helps pay college loans
Audubon Expedition Institute www.getonthebus.org Environmental
City Year www.cityyear.org Community Service
Class Afloat www.classafloat.com Shipboard Classes
Council on International Educational Exchange www.ciee.org Study/Work abroad
Calleva Gap Year https://calleva.org/gap-2/ Offer two semester-based Gap Programs, Connect with your creativity & leadership potential
Cultural Experiences Abroad https://abroadreviews.com/cea-cultural-experiences-abroad Study aboard Reviews
Disney Career Start Program https://jobs.disneycareers.com/  
Dynamy Internship Year https://www.dynamy.org/ Real world experience with hands-on internships.
Eagle’s Nest Foundation www.enf.org Experiential education for young people
Full Sail  https://www.fullsail.edu/

 

Real World Education; Recording arts/Film/Video Production, Multimedia

 

Gap Year Solutions https://gapyearsolutions.com Independent Gap Year advisor and coach helps family find options 
Global Citizen Year www.globalcitizenyear.org Apprenticeships
Global Programs www.globalprograms.com International study/teaching
Go Abroad www.goabroad.com  US and International Programs
Go Overseas https://www.gooverseas.com/gap-year Listings and reviews of programs
International Projects for Youth Exchange www.gap.org.uk International projects listings
International Language School, Educational Tours, Service Learning www.ef.com  International service learning understanding and language Education
Nacel Open Door  www.nacelopendoor.org International understanding and anguage education
National Outdoor Leadership Schools   www.iois.edu.com Eco-friendly courses and travel
Putney PreCollege goputney.com Go beyond the classroom; 9-12 grade. Includes, language, service learning, and student travel.
Rustic Pathways www.rusticpathways.com/gap Gap Year Programs All Over the World
Verto https://vertoeducation.org/ A Gap Year Without the Gap

*Arlington Public Schools does not sponsor, endorse, recommend or screen the individuals or companies whose offers are posted here. Families and students are reminded that they need to complete their own research on these individuals or companies to determine if they wish to engage in any of their opportunities or services.