无家可归餐(A-SPAN)概述

与往年一样,约克镇也参加了无家可归者袋餐计划。 该计划是通过 阿灵顿街人民援助网(A-SPAN)。 A-SPAN是一个基于社区的非营利组织,它与无家可归的人并代表无家可归的人工作,以确保他们过上自给自足和健康生活所必需的支持和服务。 A-SPAN设有紧急冬季避难所; 帮助无家可归的人就业。 每天晚上在阿灵顿的两个地点(中央图书馆的昆西街和地铁附近的罗斯林)为无家可归的人提供50至60顿饭。

约克镇(Yorktown)承诺在每个月的第一个星期五提供餐点。 为此,每个星期五大约需要7至9名志愿者。 一两个人购买食物和补给品,并在星期五2:15将其带到自助餐厅(食物费用将退还给您)。 一两个人准备甜点,并在2:15将其带到自助餐厅。 三到四个人在餐厅2:15见面并打包午餐–通常需要一个小时左右。 一个人从食堂里收集食物,然后带到昆西街上的中央图书馆–另一个人实际上会将食物运送给无家可归的人。 如果需要,您可以只注册一个月-您不必每个星期五都参加。


此外,如果您有兴趣捐款以购买食物和用品,我们将不胜感激。 如果您对有关A-SPAN的更多信息感兴趣,请致电703.820.4357,或发送电子邮件至 info@a-span.org.


义工信息

购物:

您购买了足够的50份午餐,包括100个三明治。 您需要购买:

  • 50个牛皮纸午餐袋
  • 50杯饮料(我们不能让食物变冷)
  • 至少200片面包,皮塔饼口袋,面包卷等-我们尽量不要使用高跟鞋,因此,如果您购买三明治面包,请多计划几片
  • 冷盘,鸡蛋沙拉,花生酱和果冻,金枪鱼沙拉–冷盘是最简单的方法,但种类非常多
  • 50块水果-有些通常会瘀伤,所以要多买点钱-或我们可以使用一盒葡萄干,小罐水果或苹果酱(和勺子),混合果汁
  • 额外的物品,例如薯片,胡萝卜棒,芹菜棒,饼干等。

根据所购买的商品,计划花费在50到80美元之间。 请事先与YHS财务主管联系,以获取学校的免税ID号并获取表格,以便您获得报销。

甜品

您需要制作50个甜点。 可以购买或自制,也可以将两者结合使用。 如果您将布朗尼或饼干用保鲜膜包裹起来,那就很好了。 如果您包括几个小件物品,那么将这些物品放进三明治袋中,三明治人们将不胜感激。

三明治

您正在制作100个三明治,并包装50个午餐袋。 三明治应单独包装在三明治袋中,所有东西都包装在牛皮纸袋中。 将顶部折叠起来,然后将袋子放在纸板箱或纸袋中,以便送货的人都可以轻松装载。

物流配送

安排在6:00之前领取食物并将其交付给图书馆的A-SPAN志愿者。

Homeless Meals (A-SPAN) Overview

As in previous years, Yorktown is participating in the Homeless Bag Meal Program. This program is coordinated through the Arlington Street People’s Assistance Network (A-SPAN). A-SPAN is a nonprofit community based organization, which works with and on behalf of homeless people to secure the support and services necessary for them to lead self-sufficient and healthy lives. A-SPAN runs an emergency winter shelter; assists homeless people in becoming employable; and provides 50-60 meals to homeless people every night, at two locations in Arlington (on Quincy Street at the Central Library and in Rosslyn near the Metro).

Yorktown has committed to providing meals on the first Friday of every month. To accomplish this, we need approximately 7 – 9 volunteers for each Friday. One or two people buy food and supplies and bring them to the cafeteria at 2:15 on Friday (you will be reimbursed for the cost of the food). One or two people prepare desserts and bring those to the cafeteria at 2:15. Three or four people meet in the cafeteria at 2:15 and pack the lunches – it usually takes about an hour. One person collects the food from the cafeteria and takes it to the Central Library on Quincy Street – someone else will actually deliver the food to the homeless people. You can sign up for just one month if you want – you are not committed to every Friday.


In addition, if you are interested in contributing money to buy food and supplies, we would greatly appreciate a contribution. If you are interested in more information about A-SPAN, please call them at 703.820.4357, or send e-mail to info@a-span.org.


Volunteering Information

Shopping:

You are buying enough for 50 lunches, including 100 sandwiches. You need to buy:

  • 50 brown paper lunch bags
  • 50 drinks (we can’t keep things cold)
  • at least 200 slices of bread, pita pockets, rolls, etc. – we try not to use the heels so plan on a few extra slices if you buy sandwich loaves
  • cold cuts, egg salad, peanut butter and jelly, tuna salad – cold cuts are the easiest but variety is greatly appreciated
  • 50 pieces of fruit – some is usually bruised so buy a bit extra – or we can use boxes of raisins, small cans of fruit or applesauce (and spoons), trail mix
  • extra items like potato chips, carrot sticks, celery sticks, crackers, etc.

Plan on spending between $50 and $80 or so, depending on what you buy. See the YHS Treasurer beforehand to get the school’s tax-free ID number and to get the form so you can be reimbursed.

Desserts

You need to make 50 desserts. They can be bought or homemade or a combination of the two. It’s nice if you make brownies or cookies if they are wrapped in plastic wrap. If you include several small items, it would be greatly appreciated by the sandwich people if you put the items together in sandwich bags.

Sandwiches

You are making 100 sandwiches and packing 50 lunch bags. Sandwiches should be individually packed in sandwich bags, and everything packed in the brown paper bags. Fold the tops over and put the bags in cardboard boxes or paper bags so that whoever delivers them can load them easily.

Delivery

Arrange to pick up the food and deliver it to the A-SPAN volunteers at the library before 6:00.