保证约克镇的安全 

保证约克镇的安全 

学生的安全是我们最关心的。 相信这一点,Yorktown High School 努力将我们的整个社区纳入规划,以应对可能在我们学校或周边社区发生的紧急情况。 约克镇的工作人员与我们的 APS 同事、阿灵顿警察局和消防部门以及我们的父母和家人合作,为我们的学生创造尽可能安全的环境。 在为此类紧急情况做计划时,家长需要了解 Yorktown 安全计划的一些组成部分:

  • 人员准备。   向APS的所有员工提供了有关各种可能情况的应急计划的详细说明。 尽管这些计划并不向公众公开,但它们构成了员工培训和准备的基础。 此外,APS设施部定期与Yorktown合作,以帮助增强我们建筑物的安全性。  
  • 演习。   在应急计划的指导下,我们与学生和教职员工一起进行各种演习,为许多可能的紧急情况做准备,包括约克镇内或周边的恶劣天气,火灾或暴力。 我们会教学生在演习中保持冷静,并排练可能的情况,使学生在真正的紧急情况下能够安全地做出反应。   
  • 通信。  在紧急情况下,父母想知道他们的孩子是否安全。 如果学生的安全受到威胁,将尽一切努力及时通知家长。 如果全校出现情况,Yorktown 与 APS 学校和社区关系办公室将尽快向我们的家庭和社区传播信息(家长应确保他们已注册接收 SchoolTalk 消息。更多信息关于 SchoolTalk 可以在 http://www.apsva.us/schooltalk.) 家长应注意,在紧急情况下,可能无法通过学生的个人手机与孩子进行即时通信。   
  • 统一  如果在紧急情况下必须将约克镇的学生关在安全的地方,将尽一切努力使学生尽快与父母团聚。 对于某些紧急情况,这种统一可能要等到正常的上课日结束之后才能发生,甚至可能发生在异地。 在这种团聚过程中,与正常解雇不同,父母或监护人应期望学校工作人员直接陪同孩子与父母,监护人或紧急情况接触。 
  • 紧急人员。 在紧急情况下,阿灵顿县警察局和/或消防局可接管学校。 请记住,在整个学校范围内的一次严重活动中,Yorktown员工将遵循紧急人员的指示,以最大程度地保护我们的学生和员工。     
  • 父母。  约克镇(Yorktown)的工作人员认为,最好与父母合作,确保孩子的安全。 除了让父母了解情况之外,我们还希望父母和社区成员知道是否有任何不安全的情况可能影响我们的学生,让我们知道。 约克镇网页(https://yhs.apsva.us/)包含“学生安全报告”的链接。 该链接允许任何父母,学生或社区成员在知道学生可能需要帮助以确保安全的情况下进行秘密举报。

 

如果家长对应急计划或学生安全有任何疑问,请致电 703-228-2618 联系助理校长 Scott McKeown。

Keeping Yorktown Safe 

Keeping Yorktown Safe 

The safety of our students is our foremost concern.  Believing this, Yorktown High School strives to incorporate our entire community into planning for possible emergencies that could develop in our school or the surrounding community.  Yorktown staff work in conjunction with our APS colleagues, Arlington Police and Fire Departments, as well as our parents and families to create the safest possible environment for our students.  In planning for these kinds of emergencies, it is important for parents to understand some of the components of Yorktown’s safety plan:

  • Staff Preparation.   All APS staff are provided with detailed instructions regarding emergency plans for a variety of possible situations.  Although these plans are not available to the public, they form the basis for staff training and preparedness.  Additionally, the APS Facilities Department regularly works with Yorktown to help enhance the safety and security features of our building.  
  • Drills.   Taking guidance from our emergency planning, we practice a variety of drills with our students and staff to prepare for many possible emergency situations, including severe weather, fire, or violence in or around Yorktown.  We teach students to be calm during these drills, and we rehearse possible scenarios in such a way that students will react safely during a genuine emergency.   
  • Communication.  During an emergency parents want to know that their children are safe.   Every effort will be made to notify parents in a timely manner if the safety of their students is compromised.  Should a school-wide situation develop, Yorktown, along with the APS Office of School and Community Relations, will disseminate information to our families and the community as rapidly as possible (Parents should be sure that they are registered to receive SchoolTalk messages.  More information about SchoolTalk can be found at http://www.apsva.us/schooltalk.).   Parents should be mindful that during an emergency, immediate communication with their children may not be possible via students’ personal cell phones.   
  • Reunification.  In the event that Yorktown students must be held in a secure location during an emergency, every effort will be made to reunify students with their parents as quickly as possible.  For some emergencies, this reunification may not occur until after the close of the usual school day and may even occur off-site.  During a reunification process of this type, unlike a normal dismissal, parents or guardians should expect school staff to escort their children directly to their parents, guardians, or emergency contacts. 
  • Emergency Personnel. During an emergency, the Arlington County Police and/or Fire Departments may assume command of the school.  Keep in mind that during a serious, school-wide event, Yorktown staff will follow instructions of emergency personnel in order to best protect our students and staff.     
  • Parents.  Yorktown staff believes that keeping kids safe is best done in partnership with parents.   In addition to keeping parents informed, we want parents and community members to let us know if they’re aware of any unsafe situations that may impact our students.  The Yorktown web page (https://yhs.apsva.us/) includes a link for “Student Safety Reporting”.  That link allows any parent, student, or community member to report confidentially if they’re aware of a situation in which a student might need help staying safe.

 

Parents with any questions about emergency planning or student safety, they should contact Scott McKeown, Assistant Principal, at 703 228 2618 or Cpl. Tim Koch, School Resource Officer, at 703 228 5364.