约克镇档案

 

可打印的配置文件: 约克镇学校简介

YORKTOWN

https://yhs.apsva.us

5200 Yorktown Boulevard,阿灵顿,弗吉尼亚州22207

主电话:703-228-5400

咨询服务:703-228-5403/5363

注册员:703-228-5408

成绩单:703-228-2403

学生活动和田径 703-228-5389

传真: 703-228-5409

www.apsva.us/yhs

CEEB编号– 470130


学校概况2021-2022

约克镇社区

约克镇高中位于弗吉尼亚州的阿灵顿。 阿灵顿县(Arlington County)是美国最多样化和最先进的学生群体之一。 来自世界各国的阿灵顿学生会讲超过104种不同的语言。 他们可以方便地访问该县和该州首府的各种文化和学术资源,该首都距离波托马克河仅几步之遥。 作为一个拥有230,000多人的社区, 93%的高中毕业生继续大学学历,阿灵顿拥有大学或更高学历的居民比例最高。 这个活跃而参与的社区有27,000多名学生在阿灵顿公立学校就读,确保了阿灵顿学校支持培养探究思维,尊重学习,道德行为,对公民权利和责任的理解以及对多元文化的欣赏。

课程

约克敦高中是阿灵顿县 9 至 12 年级学生的三所综合性高中之一。 阿灵顿公立学校的目标是向所有学生传授广泛的知识、有效的沟通技巧、合理的思维系统和他们的创造力。 该课程为学生提供了一个学习的机会,为大学、服兵役或工作世界做准备。 学生毕业时可以获得标准文凭或高级研究文凭。 我们的英语语言课程提供适合英语技能有限的学生的课程。 约克城的课程还为有个人教育计划或 504 计划的学生提供服务。 这些学生中有 2018% 被纳入通识教育课程。 该课程还为选择从事具有挑战性的课程作业的学生提供不同级别的课程。 被指定为“标准”和“原理”的课程表明该课程突出了该学科的全球方法,并强调了应用。 被指定为“强化”或“高级”的课程表明该科目的学习速度较快,速度较快。 这些课程不会获得额外的质量分数。 课程为“双录取”(DE) 提供,让成功完成课程的学生获得高中和大学学分。 参加大学先修课程的学生必须参加随附的 AP 考试。 1023 年,2673 名约克城学生参加了 74.2 次 AP 考试,3% 的高年级学生至少在一次 AP 考试中取得了 XNUMX 分或更高的分数。

学校

学生总人数:(第9至12) 2,181 

12级: 501届2022班

11级: 604届2023班

10级: 495届2024班

09级: 579届2025班

  • 完全通过认证 南方学院和学校协会
  • 排名最高 美国最佳大学预科公立中学的2% by
  • 在学习考试标准及格率超过70%的基础上获得国家认可
  • 2016年国家教育委员会杰出成就奖获得者
  • 支持多样化的学生群体; 既有种族 (亚洲6%,黑人6%,西班牙裔15%,多种族6%,白人65%)和学习计划中(礼物32%,特殊教育14%,英语熟练程度7%)。
  • 全校范围的计划,以促进所有学生的社交和情感成长尊重他人,社区和自我 (ROCS)。
  • 在100个俱乐部和28种学校间体育活动中提供课外活动。
  • 约克镇AP学者计划为期4年,在此计划中,学生将与其他学者一起以小组形式参加学术指导,丰富活动和特殊兴趣项目。 学生至少完成了6项高级选修课,并对他们的特殊兴趣进行了书面思考
  • 32 AP 培训班, 18 Advanced/强化课程,5双招生 课程
  • 2021年毕业调查我们86%的学生计划就读四年制大学7% 计划参加 2 年 计划中,5% 的学生计划参加间隔年,2% 的学生计划直接进入工作岗位。

约克镇ROCS

标准文凭

22学分

    高级研究文凭

24/25 学分

4英语 4英语
1世界历史 1世界历史
1 VA-US历史 1 VA-US历史
1 VA-US政府 1 VA-US政府
1其他社会研究 1其他社会研究
2健康与体育 2健康与体育
3数学(包括代数I及以上) 4数学(包括代数I及以上)
3实验科学 4实验科学
1经济学/个人金融 1经济学/个人金融
1美术/实用艺术1 + 4选修课 1门美术/实践+ 3门选修课
3-4外语(3年2或XNUMX年XNUMX年)
22学分 24-25学分

 

标准化考试成绩平均值  

SAT:英语 624 数学 629
ACT:综合 28

AP课程设置: 艺术史•艺术与设计•生物学•AB微积分•BC微积分•化学•计算机科学A•计算机科学原理•英语语言•英国文学•环境科学•欧洲历史•法国•德国•美国政府•拉丁•宏观经济学、微观经济学•物理 I•物理 II•物理 C(电和磁)•物理(力学)•心理学•西班牙语•西班牙语文学•统计学•美国历史•世界历史•世界地理

双重注册产品:信息技术高级主题•地理空间系统•线性代数(数学 285)•数学 151/152•矢量微积分(数学 277)

新冠肺炎

由于冠状病毒大流行,约克镇高中于 13 年 2020 月 4 日关闭。 在 2019-2020 学年的第 2020 季度,学生有机会完成强化或丰富教学内容的作业,直至结束。 没有提出新的作品。 在第四季度完成分配工作的学生。 一年中获得的字母等级比他们在第三季度末的平均水平高出一个字母等级。 2021-2021 学年完全在线开始,并于 50 年春季转向混合模式。学生几乎周四至周五上课 30 分钟。 每节课同步学习块。 教师额外分配 2021 分钟。 每周每个班级的异步工作以及周一的异步工作。 2022-XNUMX 学年将进行面对面教学,只有数量有限的学生留在完全虚拟的学习中。

学校员工。 (703-228-5400)

校长– Kevin Clark博士

12 年级助理校长 – Emmet Conroy

11 年级助理校长 – William Lomax

10 年级助理校长 – Suzanne Evans

9 年级助理校长 – Scott McKeown

咨询服务总监– Mark Rooks

学生活动主管– Michael Krulfeld

教学技术-山姆·怀特曼

大学和职业顾问–卡拉布罗医学博士

书记官长——卡罗尔·汤普森

学校辅导员 (703-228-5403 or 703-228-5363)

亚历克西斯·安德烈

丹妮尔·德萨索(Danielle Dessaso)

拉斐尔·埃斯皮诺萨(Rafael Espinoza)

艾莉森·吉尔伯特

奥斯汀哈米尔

胡安妮丝·詹金斯(Juanice Jenkins)

卡罗琳·克罗格(Carolyn Kroeger)

阿什利·摩尔(Ashley Moore)

杰西卡·里夫(Jessica Reeve)

杰弗里·斯塔尔

约克高中

弗吉尼亚州阿灵顿市5200 Yorktown Boulevard,22207 703-228-5400传真:703-228-5409 www.apsva.us/yhs CEEB号码– 470130

Yorktown Profile

 

Printable Profile: 2022-23 Profile

YORKTOWN

https://yhs.apsva.us

5200 Yorktown Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22207

Main Phone: 703-228-5400

Counseling Services: 703-228-5403/5363

Registrar: 703-228-5408

Transcripts: 703-228-2403

Student Activities and Athletics 703-228-5389

Fax: 703-228-5409

www.apsva.us/yhs

CEEB NUMBER – 470130


School Profile 2021-2022

The Yorktown Community

Yorktown High School is located in Arlington, Virginia. Arlington County is home to one of the nation’s most diverse and sophisticated student populations. Coming from countries around the world, Arlington students speak more than 104 different languages. They have ready access to a variety of cultural and academic resources in the county and in the nation’s capital, which is located just a short metro ride across the Potomac River. As a community of over 230,000 people, where over 93% of high school graduates continue their college education, Arlington has the highest percentage of residents with a bachelor’s degree or higher. With over 27,000 students enrolled in Arlington Public Schools, this active and involved community ensures that Arlington Schools support the cultivation of inquiring minds, respect for learning, ethical behavior, an understanding of the rights and responsibilities of citizenship, and an appreciation of diverse cultures.

The Curriculum

Yorktown High School is one of three comprehensive high schools in Arlington County for students in grades 9 through 12. The goal of Arlington Public Schools is to teach all students   a broad body of knowledge, effective communication skills, a rational system of thought, and use of their creativity. The curriculum offers students an opportunity to study in preparation for college, military service or the working world. Students may graduate with a Standard Diploma or an Advanced Studies Diploma. Our English language program provides courses appropriate for students with limited English skills. Yorktown’s curriculum also accommodates students with Individual Education Plans or 504 Plans. Ninety-five percent of these students are integrated into the general education program. The curriculum also offers various levels of courses for students who choose to engage in challenging coursework. Courses designated as “Standard”and “Principles” indicate that the curriculum highlights a global approach to the subject with an emphasis on applications. Courses designated as “Intensified” or “Advanced” indicate the subject is studied in depth and at an accelerated pace. An extra quality point is not awarded for these courses. Courses are offered for ‘Dual Enrollment’ (DE), which allows students who successfully complete the course to receive both high school and college credit. Students enrolled in the Advanced Placement courses are required to take the accompanying AP test. In 2018, 1023 Yorktown students took 2673 AP exams and 74.2% of our seniors graduated having scored 3 or higher on at least one AP exam.

The School

Total Student Population: (9th–12th) 2,181 

Grade 12: 501  Class of 2022

Grade 11: 604  Class of 2023

Grade 10: 495  Class of 2024

Grade 09: 579  Class of 2025

  • Fully accredited through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
  • Ranked top 2% of Best College Prep Public High Schools in America by
  • Accredited by the state on the basis of exceeding a 70% passing rate on the Standards of Learning Exams
  • 2016 State Board of Education Distinguished Achievement Award Recipient
  • Supports a diverse student body; both in ethnicity (Asian 6%, Black 6%, Hispanic 15%, Multi Race 6%, White 65%) and in learning programs (Gifted 32%, Special Education 14%, Limited English Proficient 7%).
  • School wide program to promote the social and emotional growth of all students Respect Others, Community and Self (ROCS).
  • Offers extra-curricular activities in 100 clubs and 28 interscholastic sports.
  • Yorktown AP Scholars is a 4-year program in which students participate with other scholars in small and large group settings for academic mentoring, enrichment activities, and a special interest project. Students complete at least 6 Advanced Placement classes and a written reflection about their special interest
  • 32 AP courses, 18 Advanced/Intensified courses, 5 Dual Enrollment courses
  • 2021 Graduation Survey 86% of our student plan attending a 4-year college and 7% plan on attending a 2-year program, 5% plan on taking a gap year and 2% of our students plan on going directly into the workforce.

Yorktown R.O.C.S

Standard Diploma

22 credits

    Advanced Studies Diploma

24/25 credits

4 English 4 English
1 World History 1 World History
1 VA-US History 1 VA-US History
1 VA-US Government 1 VA-US Government
1 Additional Social Studies 1 Additional Social Studies
2 Health and Physical Education 2 Health and Physical Education
3 Mathematics (includes Algebra I & above) 4 Mathematics (includes Algebra I & above)
3 Laboratory Sciences 4 Laboratory Sciences
1 Economics/Personal Finance 1 Economics/Personal Finance
1 Fine/Practical Arts 1 + 4 Electives 1 Fine/Practical Arts + 3 Electives
3-4 Foreign Language (3 years of one or 2 years each of two)
22 credits 24-25 credits

 

Standardized Test Score Average  

SAT:  English 624  Math 629
ACT: Composite 28

AP Course Offerings: Art History•Art and Design•Biology•AB Calculus•BC Calculus•Chemistry•Computer Science A•Computer Science Principles•English Language•English Literature•Environmental Science•European History•French•German•US Government•Latin•Macroeconomics, Microeconomics•Physics I•Physics II•Physics C(Electricity and Magnetism)•Physics (Mechanics)•Psychology•Spanish Language•Spanish Literature•Statistics•US History•World History•World Geography

Dual Enrollment Offerings: Advanced Topics in Information Technology•Geospatial Systems•Linear Algebra (Math 285)• Math 151/152•Vector Calculus (Math 277)

COVID 19

Yorktown High School closed on March 13, 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic. For quarter 4 of the 2019-2020 school year, students were given the opportunity to complete work which reinforced or enriched content taught to the point of closure. No new work was presented. Students who completed the assigned work during fourth quarter. earned one letter grade higher for the year than the average they had at the end of third quarter. The 2020-2021 school year started completely on-line and moved to a hybrid model in the spring of 2021. Students attend class virtually Thursday-Friday for 50 min. blocks of synchronous learning per class. Teachers assign an additional 30 min. of asynchronous work per class during the week as well as asynchronous work for Mondays. The 2021-2022 school year will be taught in-person, with a limited amount of students remaining in fully virtual learning.

School Staff. (703-228-5400)

Principal – Dr. Kevin Clark

Assistant Principal for 12th Grade –   Emmet Conroy

Assistant Principal for 11th Grade –   William Lomax

Assistant Principal for 10th Grade –  Suzanne Evans

Assistant Principal for 9th Grade –    Scott McKeown

Director of Counseling Services –     Mark Rooks

Director of Student Activities –          Michael Krulfeld

Instructional Technology-                  Sam Wightman

College and Career Counselor –       MD Calabro

Registrar –                                         Carol Thompson

School Counselors (703-228-5403 or 703-228-5363)

Alexis Andre

Danielle Dessaso

Rafael Espinoza

Allison Gilbert

Austin Hamill

Juanice Jenkins

Carolyn Kroeger

Ashley Moore

Jessica Reeve

Jeffrey Stahl

YORKTOWN HIGH SCHOOL

5200 Yorktown Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22207 703-228-5400 Fax: 703-228-5409 www.apsva.us/yhs CEEB NUMBER – 470130YHS LOGO 2022